NDTV Toyota University Cricket Championship


NDTV Toyota University Cricket Championship

NDTV and the Ministry of HRD have joined hands to encourage cricket at the university level. To take this forward, we are excited to launch Toyota University Cricket Championship (TUCC) starting February 2013. Designed in a Twenty20 format, TUCC will reach more than 200 Universities and 20 lakh students across India. This initiative is backed by the Association of Indian Universities (AIU) and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to nurture and promote budding cricketers, and also has the full support of Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan.

An extension of the all-India inter-university Rohinton Baria Tournament, TUCC will feature the top 8 university teams for the T20 league. The participating teams for the 2013 Championship that have been selected from the four regional zones are Jamia Milia Islamia, Aligarh Muslim University, Awadhesh Pratap Singh University, Veer Bahadur Singh Purvanchal University, Mumbai University, Jiwaji University, University of Madras and Jain University.

Before the tournament begins, each of the 8 teams will have their own “star” mentors such as Virender Sehwag and Rahul Dravid. Matches will be televised LIVE on NDTV and also on one of the top sports channels. The Man of the Match and Man of the Series will receive cash awards in the tournament which starts on 23rd February 2013 and goes on till mid-March. Along with the on-field cricket action, fans can look forward to musical performances, great food, spectator competitions and more.

Our aim is to bring about a REVOLUTION in the search for India’s next big cricket talent. Very soon, the words “Ab Hamari Baari Hai” will be echoing through the hallowed portals of universities across India.

Call: +918826966440

Website: UCC


NDTV Toyota University Cricket Championship

Your Point of View