Ministry of Power


SouLSteer  Advertisements

The Ministry of Power started functioning independently with effect from 2nd July, 1992. Earlier it was known as the Ministry of Energy sources. Electricity is a concurrent subject at Entry 38 in List III of the seventh Schedule of the Constitution of India. The Ministry of Power is primarily responsible for the development of electrical energy in the country.

The Ministry is concerned with perspective planning, policy formulation, processing of projects for investment decision, monitoring of the implementation of power projects, training and manpower development and the administration and enactment of legislation in regard to thermal, hydro power generation, transmission and distribution.

The Ministry of Power is responsible for the Administration of the Electricity Act, 2003, the Energy Conservation Act , 2001 and to undertake such amendments to these Acts, as may be necessary from time to time, in conformity with the Government’s policy objectives.

Address: 201, Shram Shakti Bhavan, New delhi, 110001

Call: (11) 23710411 23717474 23719710


Categories: Union Minister of State for Power | UPA | Haryana | Delhi | Power Generation | Indira Gandhi Super Thermal Power Project | Aravali Power Company Pvt. Ltd. (APCPL) | NTPC Ltd. | Haryana Power Generation Corporation Ltd. | Indraprastha Power Generation Company Ltd. | Capt.  Ajay Singh | Shri Haroon Yusuf

Your Point of View