BCCI gets new office bearers, Jagmohan Dalmiya strikes back!


BCCI gets new office bearers, Jagmohan Dalmiya strikes back!

Chennai, 3 March 2015: He is back in form once again, Jagmohan Dalmiya strikes back as president of Board of Control for Cricket in India for the third time. Elections result were out today at the 85th Annual General Meeting of the Board of Control for Cricket in India which was held in Chennai.

Below is the list of new office-bearers and the vice-presidents of BCCI-

1. Jagmohan Dalmiya - President

Served as President for International Cricket Council from 1997 to 2000, President for BCCI from 2001 to 2004, in 2013 and now its the hattrick at BCCI. He has been famous among the media with names like Machiavelli of Indian cricket, master of realpolitik or the master of comebacks. Born on 30 May 1940, Dalmiya is a co-owner of ML Dalmiya Group. He was a wicketkeeper during the start of his career and later got blended in his father’s business.

2. Anurag Thakur - Secretary

Coming from a highlighted background, Anurag is a member of Lok Sabha from Hamirpur twice and his father was chief minister of Himachal Pradesh twice. Born of 24 October 1974 Anurag took his Bachelor of Arts degree from Doaba College. He also became the youngest president of Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association.

3. Amitabh Choudhary ā€“ Jt. Secretary

Serving as top Senior Superintendent of Police, Amitabh Choudhary has also been strong throughout his career. He did his graduation from IIT Kharagpur, he was also seen in Tata Steel Quiz from 1985 to 1990. He was the main leader is establishing Jharkhand State Cricket Association. He was the man behind bring Mahendra Singh Dhoni to the national team.

4. Anirudh Chaudhry ā€“ Treasurer

With over 1.80 lakh twitter followers, Anirudh Chaudhry is a lawyer, sci-fi enthusiast and a lover of comics & books. He is a son of former Board Secretary Ranbir Singh Mahendra, who was secretary of the Haryana Cricket Association and was also the media manager of the Indian team for the ICC T20 World Cup in England in 2009. He was also the manager of the India under-19 team that took part in the ICC under-19 World Cup held in New Zealand in 2010.

5. M.L. Nehru ā€“ Vice President (North)

He has served as general secretary for Jammu and Kashmir Cricket Association.

6. Dr. Gokaraju Ganga RajuĀ - Vice President (South)

Serving as member of parliament from Narsapuram, Gokaraju is fond of sports, espcially cricket. Completing graduation in Bachelor of Pharmacy from Andhra University, Gokaraju founded Laila group of companies which is mainly into pharmaceuticals. He is the secretary of Andhra Cricket Association, Chairman of Financial Committee of BCCI and also the Member of Governing Council of IPL run by BCCI.

7. Gautam Roy - Vice President (East)

Roy is the member of the Indian National Congress party. He is the Member of the State Legislative Assembly from Katlicherra Constituency. Roy has represented Katlicherra in Hailakandi district since 1985; his father, Santosh Kumar Roy, was elected from the same constituency in 1972. He is the key developer of Hailakandi District. He has won six consecutive elections, i.e. has been ruling for a term of 30 years. Currently he is posted as Cabinet minister of Public Health Engineering.

8. T.C. Mathew - Vice President (West)

He acquired the office as president of Kerala Cricket Association in 2013.

9. C.K. Khanna - Vice President (Central)

He is the vice president of Delhi District Cricket Association and governing council member of Indian Premier League.

Your Point of View